2011-2014 Working Group on Education and Fragility

In October 2011, INEE and partner organizations constituted a new Working Group on Education and Fragility with a two-year mandate that built on the work of the first group, and is aligned with the INEE Strategic Plan for 2011-2013. The first biannual meeting of the reconstituted Working Group took place in Brussels, Belgium from 20-21 October 2011 with the participation of 24 member organizations.

During the Working Group's fourth binannual meeting in April 2013 in Paris, France, it was decided that the Working Group will extend its mandate by one year, until September 2014.

The Working Group developed its Work Plan 2011-2013 around four main areas:

  1. Knowledge gathering and sharing: The Working Group will focus on gathering information on what its member-organizations know, and still need to know, in terms of education’s role in state- and peace-building, and conflict-sensitive approaches to education.
  2. Exploring engagement and learning opportunities: The Working Group will engage in different spaces for dialogue and information sharing with other sectors and thematic groups. This will provide joint learning opportunities and will contribute to the development of tools and methodologies to advance conflict-sensitive programming and planning in the education sector.
  3. Identifying opportunities for outreach: The Working Group will participate in dialogue fora and learning spaces related to education or other relevant sectors, to identify opportunities for collaboration that can enhance capacity building and the implementation of the tools developed by the Working Group.
  4. Advocacy: The Working Group will develop a strategy and concrete tools for advocacy to influence decision-makers at all levels to enhance, promote and contribute to conflict-sensitive education in fragile and conflict-affected contexts.

The members of the 2011-2013 Working Group on Education and Fragility are:

  • American Institutes for Research (AIR), represented by Grace Akukwe
  • CfBT Education Trust, represented by Ruth Naylor
  • Comic Relief, represented by Kamela Usmani
  • Creative Associates International (CAI), represented by Jane Millar Wood
  • Department for International Development (DFID), represented by Martyn Shannon
  • Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD), represented by Jessica Oliver
  • Education Development Center, Inc. (EDC), represented by Sarah Nogueira Sanca
  • European Commission, represented by Graça Sousa
  • Family Health International (FHI) Development 360 (formerly Academy for Educational Development), represented by Kurt Moses
  • GIZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit), represented by Ronja Hoelzer
  • Global Partnership for Education, represented by Jean-Marc Bernard
  • Harvard Graduate School of Education / Center for Universal Education, Brookings Institute, represented by Sarah Dryden-Peterson and Rebecca Winthrop
  • IBIS, represented by Karina Kleivan
  • International Rescue Committee (IRC), represented by Jennifer Sklar
  • Netherlands Ministry of Foreign Affairs, represented by Charles de Vries
  • Save the Children, represented by Martha Hewison
  • Swisspeace, represented by Sidonia Gabriel
  • UNESCO - International Institute for Educational Planning (IIEP), represented by Lyndsay Bird
  • UN Interagency Framework Team for Preventive Action, represented by Gay Rosenblum-Kumar
  • UNHCR, represented by Ita Sheehy
  • UNICEF, represented by Friedrich Affolter
  • United States Institute for Peace (USIP), represented by Elizabeth Cole
  • University of Florence, represented by Giovanni Scotto
  • University of Toronto - Comparative, International & Development Education Centre, represented by Karen Mundy
  • USAID, represented by Yolande Miller-Grandvaux
  • WG Expert Resource Person, Margaret Sinclair - Education Above All
  • WG Expert Resource Person, Mary Kangethe - Kenyan Ministry of Education

Past members of the 2011-2013 Working Group on Education and Fragility are:

  • Commonwealth Secretariat, represented by Jonathan Penson (2011-2013)
  • University of York, represented by Frank Hardman (2011-2012)
  • WG Expert Resource Person, David Apollo Kazungu - Office of the Prime Minister of Uganda (2012-2013)